Memorial Day Weekend

Today’s blog will be short and sweet as, in a few minutes, I’ll be heading out the door to enjoy a long Memorial Day weekend. My oldest son, Cole, moves out of the dorms this weekend into a temporary apartment for a few months in order to work a Summer job with an accounting firm in the Bay Area. He will be coming to Fresno on Monday, however, to spend a few days before going back to start work. I’ll be working in my back yard and trying to stimulate the economy in the nursery business. I’ll be traveling to a few of my favorite spots to see what new things I can add to my yard. Betty and I will also take in a movie or two and maybe a side trip to San Juan Bautista for a day. All in all, it will be great to get away, and I’m looking forward to the time off.

Speaking of movies, Betty and I caught the Michael Caine film, “Is Anyone There?” last weekend. If you read the article in last month’s MAGIC magazine, then you know it’s about an elderly magician and his friendship with the son of the owners of a rest home. Out in limited release, if it comes to your city or town, check it out; it’s worth your consideration.

I want to thank those of you who called and emailed about last week’s blog and your interest in the older illusions. I always welcome your questions and comments.

So that about wraps it up. Hope you and your family have a safe and enjoyable Memorial Day weekend.

Until next time,

Paul

One Response to “Memorial Day Weekend”

  1. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank my Hero, Namesake and Grandfather, Kennith Hubert Walker. He was reported KIA during the Korean War. He had enlisted at 17, reporting his age as 18 because he couldn’t wait another year to serve his country. Weeks later he was found barely alive between the place he had been reported killed and the base he drove out from. He had been crawling back slowly, eating bugs to survive.

    The tank he was driving was disabled by a grenade. As a young boy I was allowed to feel the bits of shrapnel still lodged in his back. He climbed out of the tank with his rifle and was shot. He fell onto his bayonet and collapsed by the side of the road. There he was left for dead by his allies and enemies.

    After the war he served as a National Park Ranger, a Police Officer in Sanger and moonlighted as a Rodeo Cowboy. Before he retired he worked as a Security Guard. He passed away peacefully two years ago after surviving multiple heart attacks and strokes over a period of 10 years. Needles to say, he was the toughest person I’ve ever met in my life.

Leave a Reply

