Treasures

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been in and out of my dentist’s office. What started out as a broken tooth turned into a full-blown crown. As I sat in the dentist’s office, I remembered back when I was a kid, and my dentist had a treasure chest. You know, that little treasure chest that sat in the corner, and you knew that if you were a good kid, you’d be able to get a prize. No matter scared you may have been, you knew that treasure chest was there at the end of your visit. You’d open it up, and there were hundreds of prizes for you to select from. I hadn’t thought about this for years until I was standing at the counter waiting to pay for my visit, which was actually more painful than the visit itself. Glancing in the corner, there it was: the same treasure chest that had been here all those years. A smile came over my face, and for a moment, I remembered how excited I was as a kid. So, on my drive back to Hocus Pocus, I started to think more about that treasure chest, and from that, the Hocus Pocus Treasure Chest was born!

banner_tc

Starting Monday, there will be a new product category called Treasure Chest. Every Monday, the Treasure Chest will contain $500.00 worth of assorted magic tricks. Each day, 3 randomly-selected online members will be chosen, one at a time, their name being displayed in the Treasure Chest product category. If your name is displayed, you have a limited amount of time to contact us to redeem your prize, because every 2 hours, the names will change if the prize is not claimed. This will continue Monday through Friday until the $500.00 prize is claimed. If, at the end of the week, the prize has not been claimed, we will add another $50.00 worth of magic to the Treasure Chest. This offer applies to ALL online members and no purchase is necessary. And hey, no trip to the dentist either. If you have any questions about the promotion, please feel free to contact me via phone 800-407-4040 or 559-266-5150 or email me at sales@hocus-pocus.com.

dreamholiday1Speaking of giving things away, our good friend, Paul Romhany, is offering all our Hocus Pocus friends and customers a chance to download a free mentalism effect, called The Dream Holiday. Paul is one of the most creative guys we know, and we thank him for his generosity and for sharing this with all of you. Check it out HERE!

A Man Without A Gnome

garden-gnome-pipe-9r

As many of you know, my garden is my hobby. Several months ago, I was given a lucky garden gnome from some close family friends, and a funny thing has happened; they’ve just started to multiply. One turned into two, two turned into four, and before you knew it, there were 24 gnomes living in my garden. In case you haven’t guessed, I have a newfound love for these little guys. Now you have to understand that they must meet my criteria: They must be made of cement. No plastic or ceramic. Cement. The older, the better. I found myself sitting up late at night searching eBay, Craig’s List, and other sources, looking for old cement garden gnomes. I was excited last night as I scored one from the early 1940s. There was a fierce bidding competition between myself and others on eBay, but I emerged victorious. If you have a cement garden gnome or know anyone who does, I’m looking to adopt them and promise to give them a good home. In the next few weeks, I’ll post photos from the garden of the little fellows.

A Good Read

Untitled-1

Our good friend and longtime Hocus Pocus supporter, Jerry Dunn, has written a new book called MY FAVORITE PLACE ON EARTH, just published by National Geographic. It features 75 remarkable people — from the Dali Lama to Will Ferrell to Jane Goodall — each talking about the one place they love most in the world. Examples: Natalie Portman (Jerusalem); U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor (Arizona); Robin Williams (San Francisco); Tom Brokaw (Tibet); Calvin Klein (Tanzania); James Taylor (the middle of the Atlantic Ocean); Jerry Seinfeld (Central Park, NY). AND from the world of magic, Lance Burton, talking about his first trip to Las Vegas at age 21 with Johnny Thompson. The book is a very interesting read, and I envy Jerry for being able to interview all the interesting people in his book. It makes a great gift for yourself or someone you know. You can see the complete roster of famous people and their favorite spots at www.myfavoriteplacenatgeo.com

Before I go, don’t forget to check out the Treasure Chest on Monday. Who knows; your name just might be the first one posted!

Until next time,

Paul

Leave a Reply

