An Afternoon of History and Great Memories

So last Friday there was no blog as we were busy preparing for our Blackstone event. We set up chairs and tables and a large viewing screen. So due to our hectic schedule, I wasn’t able to write the weekly blog. I’m writing early this week as I am leaving tomorrow for a short vacation and returning next Monday. The Blackstone event Saturday was fantastic with over 120 people in attendance. At 12:00 I introduced Gay Blackstone to the audience and for the next 2.5 hours, she shared stories, excerpts, anecdotes along with a history of the Blackstone family, from Harry Sr. to Harry Jr. and what she has been doing on her own. Some of the highlights was a slide show presentation featuring many photos that have not been seen before. Also, a video presentation of Harry Jr. performing his classic Vanishing Birdcage, Buzz Saw Illusion, and Floating Light Bulb. After a brief intermission, Gay took questions from the audience for about 45 minutes and then it was time to wrap it up. There was something in this event for everyone, including a table of memorabilia, books, DVDs, etc. for sale, and I was even able to talk Gay into selling me Harry Jr’s Casadega Cabinet, which is now proudly displayed along with Harry Jr’s tuxedo and other Blackstone memorabilia.

IMG_0628

Gay and Steve Dick setting up for the event

IMG_0627

I couldn’t believe I was this close to Harry Jr’s Casadega Cabinet

100_0640

Final touches on the memorabilia table before showtime

100_0641

Gay signing autographs and greeting guests

100_0646

A packed house as the lecture begins

100_0647

IMG_8770

Danielle Lamb posing with Harry Jr’s tuxedo

IMG_8773

Danielle Lamb is quite the accomplished magician herself and one of my favorites

IMG_8776

Members of the SAM 112 posing with Gay Blackstone

IMG_0634

And the deal was made

IMG_0635

Gay and I finalizing the deal on the Casadega Cabinet

IMG_0636

It’s all mine. I can’t believe it!

IMG_0638

Back of the Casadega Cabinet. Signed, sealed and delivered!

I can’t stress how important I feel it is to learn about the history of our craft. It’s not always about what the latest trick is. After all, it’s really about those who paved the way and brought the art to where it is today. All in all, this event was a great afternoon filled with history, magic, and great memories of two of magic’s greatest performers. I received many compliments over the weekend from those who attended, saying what a great time they had. For me personally, seeing all the live footage again and talking about Harry Blackstone Jr., it was as if he never left us. If you wish to see some of these moments captured on DVD, Gay was kind enough to offer her Blackstone Magical Moments DVD at a considerable discounted price just for Hocus Pocus customers. We have a limited supply of this DVD and when it’s sold out, there will be no more. Click the DVD image below to get the details:

DVD-BlackstoneMM-FULL

I’ll be leaving this afternoon and heading north to Saratoga, California where Betty and I will be seeing James Taylor in concert tomorrow evening. This is a concert I’ve always wanted to attend, and Betty surprised me with tickets for my birthday this year. After the concert, we’ll head over to visit my son, Cole, in Moraga, California and have dinner, and then we’ll be heading home on Friday. I’ll be back to work on Monday.

Until next time,

Paul

4 Responses to “An Afternoon of History and Great Memories”

  1. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  3. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

