The Start of a New Year

Hope you all had a great Christmas. We celebrated at home with all my kids. Not an easy task to get them all together in one place anymore but we managed to do just fine. We had a great Christmas dinner and reminisced about Christmases past. Before I knew it, the day was gone, and Christmas over. Saturday morning, my sons, Max and Cole and son in-law Jonathan began to dismantle all the outside decorations. Betty and I took on the inside decorations. After all these years, we finally formulated a plan: I start at one end of the house and Betty the other, one room at a time, until we meet in the middle. What started at 9:00 AM was finally finished at 5:00 PM. We spent the rest of the weekend relaxing until returning to work here on Monday.

HOLIDAY HIJINX

It seems that, while we were away, the gremlins were at work here at Hocus Pocus. I arrived Monday morning around 5:45 AM to stacks of orders, thanks to all of you, and then a funny thing began to happen: The phones would ring, I would answer, and no one was there, or so I thought. This continued for about 45 minutes, and as I began to become a little frustrated, a customer was able to get through, and he explained that he was able to hear me, but I couldn’t hear him. A panicked phone call to AT&T to find out what the problem was, and thankfully, they were able to immediately send out a technician who diagnosed the problem — it wasn’t gremlins at all but squirrels. And fog. Yep, you read that right — squirrels. It seems that a certain squirrel family had chewed the phone lines just enough to allow the low moisture to creep into the phone lines that caused the problems. Who’d have thought? Within a half hour, the lines were repaired, and all was well.

So, as we near the end of 2009, I reflect back, I have a lot to be thankful for. Yes, there were both high and low points, but the high far outweighed the low, and even in a year of financial difficulties for many, I am thankful that we had your continued support and friendship to help things along the way. Remember the most important things are your health, family, and friends. However you celebrate New Year’s, I wish for all of you good health, happiness, and prosperity in the upcoming new year, and I thank you for your continued support and friendship. So onward and upward as we prepare for 2010. I think it’ll be the best year yet.

Until next year,

Paul

3 Responses to “The Start of a New Year”

  1. Paul,
    Thanks for your continued friendship over all these years. You always will be the Number ONE magic dealer in my books.
    Patty and I wish you and Hocus Pocus a great NEW YEAR in 2010 and dont forget, you can come up to Oregon anytime! Patty and I would love to have you as our guests at Sunriver home!
    Roger

  2. Wishing you and your family a fantastic New Year Paul – plans are full swing for me to lecture at Hocus-Pocus next year.
    All the best
    Paul and Natalie Romhany

  3. Don Kincheloe Says:

    Sorry about the Squirel situation. Must be Alvin and his bros. Good luck in the comming year.

    Don

Leave a Reply

