A Pretty Great Week

Well, the title says it all; it’s been a great week here at Hocus Pocus. First off, on Tuesday, Betty and I celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary! It was a great day, we had a nice dinner out at our favorite restaurant. It’s hard to believe that 19 years have gone by so quickly… I’m a pretty lucky guy that she said yes because they’ve been the best 19 years of my life.

Wednesday, Betty and I were honored to attend the SAM Assembly 112 Awards Banquet in Concord, California. We left Wednesday morning and arrived in Walnut Creek around 11:30 AM where we met up with my son, Cole and his girlfriend, Amanda, and we spent the afternoon doing some shopping and had a great lunch. We then attended the banquet that evening and had a great time. I was impressed that they had around 75 of their members in attendance. Everyone was treated to a Chinese buffet, and I’ll be honest, I’ve never seen so much food in one place before in my life. After dinner, they presented awards to many people. Betty, Cole and I were surprised when we were given an award. It was quite an honor, and I very much appreciate the invitation and award. After the awards were handed out, several of their members entertained the group and then door prizes were awarded.

Let the banquet begin

Betty, Cole, and I with our good friends, Dan, Danielle, and Kristen Lamb

Danielle is quite an accomplished performer with a great personality and enthusiasm for the art of magic. I predict that she will go far in any endeavor she chooses. They are 3 of the nicest people you could ever meet, and I am proud to call them my friends.

Betty and I receiving the award

This will be proudly displayed in my office. Thank you, Assembly 112!

Betty and I thanking the group

Betty, Cole and I were both overwhelmed and appreciative of Assembly 112’s warmth and generosity. Before we knew it, it was almost 10 o’clock and time to head back to Fresno. All the way back home, Betty and I talked about the great time we had. It made me realize that sometimes, slowing down the pace and enjoying good company with good people is really what life is all about.

Returning Thursday morning to work, we sent out the latest Estate and Private Collection list out. We’ve been overwhelmed by the phone calls and emails regarding this list. If you’d like to participate, you should do so soon as all these items are one-of-a-kind and many have been unavailable for years. You never know; there may be that one thing you’ve been looking for in this list. If there’s something specific you are looking for, you should always contact us because we still have thousands of items yet to be listed. Check it out below:

As we wrap up the week, we are already getting ready for next week’s excitement. Monday, we host a lecture with Shoot Ogawa, which we are all very excited about, and as a bonus, Mark and Nani’s son, Greg will be here delivering the Drum Illusion used by Mark and Nani on the Magic Land of Allakazam and the Magic Circus as well as other performances. This piece will be a part of my private collection, and it will be on display here at Hocus Pocus along with all the other magic and memorabilia I’ve collected over the years. These items are always on display in our showroom should you decide to drop on by and visit. As a bonus, Greg will be debuting his new 12-minute act as pre-show entertainment before the Shoot Ogawa lecture. I’ll report next week both on the lecture and on Greg’s performance.

Greg Wilson

Mark Wilson and his Drum Illusion

So, like I said, it’s been a pretty great week, and it looks like next week doesn’t look too shabby either.

Until next time,

Paul

Leave a Reply

