Past and Present

 Blast From The Past

Cinderella The Clock Strikes Twelve by Jack Silver Scottish Magic Studio

Just like many of you, I collect vintage and antique magic effects and illusions. It is always exciting to receive something that I have longed for over a period of years, even though it is usually sold within days I get some satisfaction that it resided here temporarily. Yesterday was one of those days when I came across an effect I have wanted for years: Cinderella The Clock Strikes Twelve.

Paul with Cinderella The Clock Strikes Twelve at Hocus Pocus

I owned this effect when I was a teenager  and I traded it in at Buma’s House of Magic in San Francisco for a Supreme Magic Dove Chalet. I thought I was finished with Cinderella and the Dove Chalet was calling my name (I know, I know, you can’t believe I did this, but I was a kid! I didn’t know any better!).

I was happy with the Dove Chalet, but I never got over trading in the Cinderella and have been looking for one for the last TWENTY YEARS.

Yesterday was my lucky day! I saw this extremely rare effect on an estate list and immediately acquired it. It is just as great as I remember it and it still works as good as it did the day it was made. I don’t think this is going to be a temporary resident in the Hocus Pocus showroom.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MAX

Today is Max’s 20th birthday and Betty and I couldn’t be more proud of him! He is completing his second year in college (right on schedule!), working here at Hocus Pocus and is being an all around great son. He took today off to celebrate his birthday and we are missing his presence in more ways than one — I have been running all day long between my office and the warehouse helping to fill orders, ring them up and get them out! I’m exhausted, Max I do miss you here, but really HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Paul, Max and Betty

On that note I want to wish you a great weekend!

Until next time,

Paul

Leave a Reply

