One Day Early

Our now-famous $1 and $5 boxes at the world famous Magic Castle in Hollywood, CA

Betty, Tim & I will be leaving early Friday morning to make the trip southward to the wilds of Hollywood and the world famous Magic Castle for their semi-annual swap meet, so that’s why I having to get this blog up one day early.It’s definitely not boring around here. We been frantically packing hundreds of DVDs and tricks for our famous $1 and $5 boxes. People get so excited about the “finds” in those boxes, they actually get down on their hands and knees and root through every box. Seems they can’t help themselves at these rock-bottom prices. And frankly, who can blame them?

Just for fun, we often put several pricey effects in the boxes, and when people come across them, they actually ask us in complete disbelief, “This is only $5?”, and we say, “Yes”, and they say “No way!” And we say “Yes, way!”

It’s so enjoyable to watch their reactions and the excitement it builds as they hunt for more of these incredible bargains.

Mason Lecture Delivers

What a bang up job Mark Mason did with his excellent lecture this last Monday night. This  is not the first time Hocus Pocus has hosted Mark’s lecture, nor will it be the last as he always brings his complete professionalism and a sense of commitment and true competence.  Tim and I were talking, and we both agree that Mark’s brilliance lies in the fact that he focuses on excellent presentational effects that “EVERY MAN” can do, versus flashy tricks that may take months to master.

Mark Mason “wows” them again at his lecture at Hocus Pocus

Of course, when he pulled me aside prior to the lecture and showed me his newest effect, I went bananas for it. This dynamite effect is such a knock-out that practically everyone present bought one. Since it hasn’t officially been released, I’m not at liberty to say exactly what it is, but I CAN tell you that it takes an effect that has been historically difficult to perform, and allows anyone, and I mean ANYONE, to do it.

Norm Neilsen’s remarkable Okito-ized version of the Light & Heavy Box

It’s so clever, that I’m bursting at the seams to tell you, but I promised Mark I’d keep it under wraps until its actual release date, sometime later this year. Trust me, you’ll be one of the first to know when we get our hands on it.

At a recent gathering, after witnessing the effect, BOTH David Copperfield and Chris Kenner immediately bought one.  They were so bowled over by its implausibility that they HAD to have one.  In fact, neither of them had a clue as to how it was done — it’s THAT good.

Light and Heavy Box, Neilsen Style

Norm Neilsen has done it again! A couple of weeks ago Norm called me to purchase several of our exclusive Gravity Boxes for a new project.  I told him that our Gravity Box was perfect for his project and that they are masterfully constructed by my friend Jay Leslie of House of Enchantment.

I had to have Norm’s beautiful new verson of the Light & Heavy Box

So, I shipped him a few, and as you can see by the pictures, Norm did his own exemplary “magic” on them, morphing them into a work of art with his signature Okito decaling. The paint job on them is utterly first rate and pictures don’t do them justice. They’re now available on Norm’s site.

I have to admit, when I saw the transformation and what Norm had done, I knew I had to have one for myself. I’m not surprised, just impressed one more time at Norm’s outstanding work.

Dennis Loomis Sword Box

This week Dennis Loomis brought in a Sword Box he had custom made for his show many years ago by a local craftsman. This is by far the most beautiful Sword Box I’ve ever seen. I don’t know who the guy is who built it, but he’s unquestionably a master of his craft.

I was really liking the fact that displaying it would enhance our showroom, so I wouldn’t have minded if it lingered here for a while.

Dennis Loomis’ custom-made Sword Box; what a beauty!

However, as fate would have it, after putting it online, it sold within 2 hours! That’s the way things go around here. A mere 24-hours of enjoyment of this one-of-a-kind Sword Box. Literally, here today, GONE tomorrow!

Swap Meet Here We Come

We’re spending the rest of today packing the remainder of the items were going to sell at the Castle swap meet.

We always have such a good time in Hollywood; having dinner with friends, exploring new parts of L.A., wheeling and dealing, finding awesome vintage magic, and just batting the breeze with our magic friends.

If you’ve never been to the Magic Castle Swap Meet, we hope to see you there.  If not this weekend, certainly sometime in the near future. It’s a blast.

Have a magical weekend, I know I will.

Until next time,

Paul

Leave a Reply

