Actions Speak Louder Than Words

Apparently, last week’s blog highlighting Vick Lawston’s mail-order catalog struck a note with lots of you. We’ve never received so many comments as we did on this one. In fact, more than ever!

I wanted this so badly!

I wanted this so badly!

Vick Lawston was essentially a mail-order huckster banking on the fresh new enthusiasm of kids new to magic. Of course, in today’s climate, he would not  survive.

I have to say that I enjoyed writing it as much as you enjoyed reading it.

As of today, we have been in business for business 38 years, 2 months, 18 days. I’m not counting, but I did find immediate access via the internet to a time-and-date site (www.timeanddate.com) for an instant calculation. That’s the beauty and the curse of the internet. So instantaneous.

We’ve gone from a brick-and-mortar magic shop, to a successful mail-order business, to a worldwide internet presence. Given our changing world, vacillating economy and the fickle nature of the magic business, we continually strive to improve our business.

Regardless of our business model, the one constant has been our commitment to integrity — and to honoring & treating our customers fairly — no matter what!

We’re not perfect, no one is. Sometimes we make mistakes, but we correct and learn from them.

Magic stores come and they go.

In today’s culture, you can instantly throw up a website with minimal effort and start selling magic out of your bedroom. VOILA…instant magic store!

Voila2I’ve seen them promise LOWEST prices, BIGGEST inventory, FASTEST shipping….they’ll say practically anything to get your business. But, the bottom-line is, do they really meet and deliver what they promise?

We’re the real deal.

We’ve methodically grown our business into an operation that has 21,000 square-feet of warehouse and showroom space with multiple employees and over $1 million dollars of in-stock inventory. We cannot afford to alienate customers or render inferior service. It’s just simple math.

As my dad used to say, “Actions speak louder than words.” He was right.

As an example, a customer called the other day to ask about a particular $150 trick. After talking for a bit, I gave him my honest  and direct assessment of it. I said, “Don’t buy it.” There was dead-silence on the other end of the line. Apparently, that sort of unswerving honesty wasn’t what he expected.

You see, not every trick is the “best thing since sliced bread” or right for a performer’s specific requirements. Basically, the trick wasn’t right for him. I could have easily made a $150 sale, but I’d rather be forthright with someone and retain their future business than make a quick buck. That is my philosophy in a nutshell.

It really is much easier to retain customers than to have to go find new ones.

When your integrity is marginalized, word gets out quickly. Customer loyalty is compromised and rightly so. It can take down a business practically overnight.

I like what Abraham Lincoln said, “I never had a policy; I have just tried to do my very best each and every day.”

We have a toll-free number and will gladly respond to any inquiries anyone has regarding any effect, prop or equipment they have questions about.  We answer the phone, we return emails, we communicate promptly, we ship as quickly as possible, and we treat customers exactly as we’d want to be treated.

You can pick up a phone and call me at any time at (800) 407-4040. We welcome your questions and we love hearing from you. Email me at sales@hocus-pocus.com or Skype me @ hocuspocusca.

As we enter into our 39th year, we can’t wait to see what the new year brings.

Until next time,

Paul

Leave a Reply

