Sea Monkeys and Ant Farms

Our weekend over at the coast was restful and enjoyable. Betty got to shop her favorite tablecloth store and I picked up a few items for the yard. Then it was back to Fresno for the holiday weekend. We had friends over for a barbeque Saturday night and then a repeat performance with the kids on Sunday.

Now if id could only find a way to make the weekends longer.

Aqua Boy Lives and Swims in Fresno

I’m convinced my grandson Zachary is part fish. That kid would spend every waking moment in the water if we let him.  My proven method for coaxing this water bug out of the pool is the promise of an internet search for Thomas trains that he does not yet own. Zachary knows all their names and exactly what trains he has in his expanding arsenal. He makes me laugh.

I caught this fish and wrapped him in a towel.

I caught this fish and wrapped him in a towel.

He’s now into bugs, but not piders. “No piders. Piders bite Papa.” Apparently piders are bad, so any potential pider acquisitions will be nixed until further notice.

For a long while I’ve been pondering the idea of getting Zachary an Ant Farm, like the one I had when I was a kid. My parents got me an Uncle Milton’s Ant Farm, so that’s the one I’ll be getting for Zachary.

Unfortunately I received mine in the wintertime, and since ants were sold separately, shipped 4-6 weeks later, I was left to forage the neighborhood for unsuspecting ants. I was disheartened to learn that ants hibernate in the winter months. What a disappointment!

I got Zachary the GIANT Ant Farm because he deserves the best!

I got Zachary the GIANT Ant Farm because he deserves the best!

Several weeks later when dad opened the newly-delivered ant package, he accidently dropped the vile into the sink. Oh no! Half my livestock instantly perished! My farm was on the brink of collapse what with half the population lost to the drain.  Ant farming can be so disappointing when it starts off this rough.

Luckily Zachary has me, a seasoned pro, to help him navigate the topography and to avoid the heartbreaking pitfalls of farming with ants.

Next on the agenda, Sea Monkeys. Stay tuned.

This is the exact Sea Monkey advertisement I saw when I was a kid!

This is the exact Sea Monkey advertisement I saw when I was a kid!

A Good Sales Week

We had a good week of sales with a large consignment that came in. Among the many items were two Kerry Pollack props, his Comedy Card to Balloon and his  Mindreading Turban. Kerry Pollock’s Mindreading Turban sold in just a few hours. In fact, every one of his Mindreading Turbans we’ve ever gotten in sells in less than 24 hours due to their rarity!

Kerry Pollack's Mindreading Turban never stays on the shelf for long.

Kerry Pollack’s Mindreading Turban never stays on the shelf for long.

We also had this Olde English Wrist Stocks Escape by Louie Gaynor come in this week. No telling how long it will be here, but it looks like the real thing. Louie Gaynor really does know how to make a prop. 

Olde English Wrist Stocks Escape by Louie Gaynor

Olde English Wrist Stocks Escape by Louie Gaynor

Show Date Changed

Tim and I were going to perform the Mindreading Turban in our upcoming show, but we’ll just have to find some other material. The date of the show has been changed to Saturday, November 1, 2014. We’ll keep you updated on any changes as things progress along.

For now, it all seems to be coming together, including a special prop I had Eddie Fairchild of Fairchild Magic construct for me for the my dove act portion of the show. Maybe I’ll give you a sneak preview when it arrives next week.

We’re always on the lookout for good quality trade-ins like the Olde English Stocks Escape or consignments items, so do keep us in mind. Send inquiries to sales@hocus-pocus.com.

Until next time my friends,

Paul

Leave a Reply

