Quite a Week, Plus A Big Announcement!

We’ve been somewhat remiss in the last couple of weeks, keeping this blog updated. But, what with the Thanksgiving holiday, Black Friday, and most recently, Cyber Monday, we’ve been busy. Hopefully, this blog entry will make up for lost time, because there’s lots to report.

Lie Detector by Suds

Ted “Suds” Sudbrach paid us a visit this week, personally delivering several of his newest props including his Lie Detector. The prop looks great and has a loud and very amusing buzzer.

The Lie Detector is a hilarious routine using a remote to create a very humorous presentation appealing to the gamut of audience types. Suds’ clever routine utilizes the lie detector to locate a chosen card and features a funny bit at the end where the detector turns on the magician. At its conclusion, though the batteries are removed, the detector continues its loud protests including a different sound effect, a shrill siren. Very funny stuff!

Suds shows off his new Lie Detector

Suds shows off his new Lie Detector

The Lie Detector bit has been used for umpteen years by performers who’ve recognized the intrinsic value that this laugh-packed prop generates with audiences. You can literally have them rolling in the aisles.

We haven’t’ had a good Lie Detector in stock for some time now, plus one that’s so affordable.

Suds really does make the BEST Pom-Pom Pole available.

Suds really does make the BEST Pom-Pom Pole available.

And I’ve got to say that Sud’s Pom-Pom Pole is one of the best I’ve seen. I don’t’ think anyone makes one better. It’s built to last for years and the quality is outstanding.

Finally, the Elusive Wicker Basket is Mine!

As a teenager, I was a committed magic catalog pursuer, so I’d seen the ad for the Hindu Basket in the Abbott catalog many times. But its description didn’t do it justice, so my interest was never piqued. That is, until I saw a couple of clowns at the Ringling Brothers Circus perform it, practically as a throw away. It knocked my socks off so completely that I knew I HAD to have one!

Without delay the next day, I’m on the phone to Abbott Magic ordering one for delivery. I recall being disappointed to learn that they no longer offered it in wicker, but in the newfangled fiberglass, so popular in the mid-1970’s.

Of course, I ordered my Hindu Basket and began performing it right away receiving enormous attention and exemplary reactions. I was on fire. If only the catalog description would’ve depicted it accurately, I would’ve added much sooner. You know, it was the ONE and only time I can recollect a clown so completely impacting my life. You see, it pays to go to the circus.

Linda fits perfectly into the new basket, and it's wicker, so I'm happy the search has ended.

Linda fits perfectly into the new basket, and it’s wicker, so I’m happy the search has ended.

For many years I looked for a wicker basket to replace the fiberglass one — never finding one.

Recently, resurrecting my act for the 3 Amigos of Magic show, I decided to renew my search for the elusive wicker Hindu Basket. Still no success. Until last week, when a friend tipped me off to one for sale, and I nabbed it! The basket arrived this week, so Linda came in for a fitting and she fits perfectly inside. It’s going into the act. Problem solved. And it only took 40 years.

A Big Announcement

I’ve been keeping this news under my hat for some time now, practically bursting at the seams, but now that it’s official I can now make the announcement. We are pleased to announce our new association with Owen Magic Supreme. Hocus Pocus will be representing an array of Owen high quality magic props and paraphernalia from their vast product line.

Known worldwide for creating props and equipment for top working professionals, the Owen name is recognized as one that is synonymous with magic of the highest caliber.

It all started a number of weeks ago when Betty and I were invited down to Azusu to visit the Owen warehouse and spend the day with Alan Zagorsky, owner of Owen Magic Supreme, to tour his operation and get better acquainted. Alan and I had started to get to know one another as he began building props for me for my upcoming performance with the 3 Amigos of Magic, which occurred last month. Little did I know this association would lead to another friendship.

Owen_Wrist_Guillotine_Lg4

I had never been to Owen Magic Supreme, so I was excited to be invited, and to be getting the opportunity to see the inner sanctum of this venerable purveyor of some of the world’s finest magic props. The day couldn’t come fast enough.

Well, to say that I was amazed, is a complete understatement. The skill, mastery and level of craftsmanship involved amazed and surprised me to no end. Alan educated us on every step of production, explaining precisely how these extraordinary props come into being.

Everything, and I mean everything, is painstakingly manufactured on the spot, right there at Owen facility. They don’t buy a rubber canary needed for a prop, they pour their own into a mold that they’ve made themselves. No pieces are bought and added to a prop, every facet of every prop originates from that very facility.

I was so impressed, I was almost speechless. These superb props begin as a pieces of wood and metal, and end up finished products fit for a king!

Alan and I discussing some of his products during his recent visit to Hocus Pocus.

Alan and I discussing some of his products during his recent visit to Hocus Pocus.

Happily, this week we hosted a return visit from Alan and his associate, Jim Olsen, who came to tour our showroom and warehouse. Alan was more than pleasantly surprised and said, “I had no idea it was like this.” He couldn’t believe the amount of props, equipment and collectibles that are currently housed under our roof. Needless to say, he was very impressed with our entire set-up. I guess he thought it was another magic shop.

Alan telling me about the Bang Firecracker as Cole, my son, looks on.

Alan telling me about the Bang Firecracker as Cole, my son, looks on.

 

Alan Zagorsky, Jim Olsen and me posing next to an Owen Geometric Illusion.

Alan Zagorsky, Jim Olsen and me posing next to an Owen Geometric Illusion.

Alan brought with him a quantity of props that are now live on our site, including the Owen Wrist Guillotine. And what a beauty it is — a work of art made of steel, brass and wood.

And now to think, Hocus Pocus is  representing the Owen line of products under our banner. I couldn’t be more happy, thrilled & proud of this great new alliance, and especially to have found a new friend in Alan Zagorsky. We seem to be “brothers from different mothers” as the saying goes.

On the way out the door, Alan handed me a small package and said, “Open this after I leave.” So, I did. And was I ever pleased to find a very generous gift, a beautiful Snuff Box made of hard rock maple. Thanks Alan, your gift is unnecessary, but very much appreciated.

Such a beautiful and generous gift from Alan Zagorsky, an Owen Snuff Box.

Such a beautiful and generous gift from Alan Zagorsky, an Owen Snuff Box.

VANISH Magazine – Entertaining Kids by Tim Mannix

Several years ago, I urged our friend Paul Romhany to use his many talents to create an online magazine for working professionals. He did, and in April of 2012 VANISH magazine debuted and has continually been putting out first-rate material written for and about professional magicians. I would’ve given my left arm to have had a resource like this 30 years ago.

Beginning with this month’s December issue, our own Tim Mannix will begin with an article entitled, “Nothing Personal Mister Magician, But My Child Will NEVER Participate in the Magic Show!”

Click on the image below to download the latest version of VANISH:

Click on this article to be taken to VANISH and download your own copy of the latest edition.

Click on this article to be taken to VANISH and download your own copy of the latest edition.

Celebrating December with Frosty’s Magic Top Hat Drawing

Announcing Frosty’s Magic Top Hat Drawing, giving you a chance each week to win a $250 Hocus Pocus gift card!
With every order you place between December 1, 2014 and December 19, 2014, your name will be automatically entered into a weekly drawing.

Frosty's Magic Top Hat Drawing has a weekly winner.

Frosty’s Magic Top Hat Drawing has a weekly winner.

How It Works

  1.  For every order you place between December 1, 2014 and December 19, 2014 you’ll earn ONE chance to win in the weekly drawing.
  2. Each week a new winner is drawn from the chances accumulated from December 1st, so the more you shop the more chances you’ll accrue, thus bettering your odds of winning.
  3. Gift Card drawings occur on the following dates: December 5th, December 12th, and December 19th! We’ll post the winners on our blog weekly.
  4. No special code required to enter or remember since your purchase automatically enters you into this holiday drawing.
  5. Don’t have an order right now? Simply send us ONE email to receive a chance to win. Only ONE email entry per customer please to Cole@hocus-pocus.com

Shop now AND weekly to maximize your chances of winning!

Gift Card drawings occur on the following dates: December 5th, December 12th, and December 19th!

Winner-FMHC-1205
I think I’ve more than made up for some of the leaner blogs in week’s past. I’d better get back to work.

Until next time,

Paul

 

Leave a Reply

